26
Dec
08

Spinach and Chickpea Curry

chickpeacurryfixresize 

 

When I came across this recipe I immediately thought I had to try it.  I had been thinking about attempting to cook an Indian dish at home for awhile and this one seemed so simple and quick I felt comfortable giving it a try – if it didn’t turn out well I would not have invested much time and energy into it.  I hate wasting time and energy! 

Not only is this dish super fast to whip up, it’s healthy.  The chickpeas are high in fiber and a great source of protien.  And thanks to Popeye we all know the health benefits of spinach by now! 

This dish goes so well with lamb.  I like to buy the small loin lamb chops and broil them in the oven for about 10 minutes.  I serve this curry along side the lamb – it’s spectacular.  I have also spooned this mixture over a piece of Tilapia and it was very tasty.  This spinach and chickpea curry would also be fantastic as a vegetarian meal all on it’s own served over basmati rice. 

This is what you will need to serve as a side dish for 4-6 people…

 

1 cup coarsely chopped onion

1 tablespoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 teaspoon red curry powder

1/8 teaspoon garam masala

1 19-oz can chick peas, drained and rinsed

1 14-oz can diced tomatoes with juice

4-5 cups spinach leaves

chicken stock (optional)

In a food processor, combine onion and ginger,  pulse until minced.

Heat oil in a large skillet.  Add onion mixture, curry powder and garam masala to the pan and saute 3 minutes.  Add chickpeas and tomatoes to the pan, crushing some of the tomatoes with the back of your spoon.  Simmer for 2-3 minutes.  Stir in spinach and simmer until wilted.

If you would like the mixture to be more liquidy, feel free to add some chicken stock (or vegetable stock).  I prefer mine on the thicker side.

 

That’s it, really.  So fast.  So simple.  So delicious.

9 Responses to “Spinach and Chickpea Curry”


  1. December 27, 2008 at 10:21 am

    This dish looks absolutely delicious!

  2. December 27, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    This is my kind of dish. I love it! What a beautiful blog you have. I’m your newest fan!

  3. December 27, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    this sounds just delicious. my husband loves curry, i always mean to make it for him more. i love the chickpeas.

  4. 4 sillyrenditions
    December 27, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    My mom makes this all the time, it is really a wonderful and healthy dish

  5. December 28, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    That looks healthy and good!

  6. December 30, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    Yum, it looks so flavorful. Curries are often too heavy, but this looks perfect!

  7. 7 Tia
    January 5, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Made this for dinner last night, and it was SO delicious. I had to omit the garam masala (since I used it all up a couple of weeks ago), but it was great anyway. Served it to my mother-in-law, over buttered saffron basmati, and she raved about it. Even my picky, meat-eating husband ate a good bit of it and said he wouldn’t turn it away if I made it again. lol

    Thanks for the recipe! :)

  8. March 6, 2013 at 1:09 am

    yeah! i had try this…very nice for dinner.. i love curry..i love indian food!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

